5/15/17:Momentary Anger

I received few spankings that I can remember (trust me, the ones I received were memorable), but my mother was good at doling out punishments. The minute the transgression was discovered, she’d slap a week of being grounded, or worse yet, of restriction from using the telephone. I would much rather have received the lecture and then the spanking so I could be finished with the whole sordid situation and get on with living life. But no, those punishments always lasted the full length of the sentence—there was no whining, plea bargaining, or best behavior ploy that could get me out of it any sooner.

The strange thing was that Mom didn’t stay mad at me. More than anything else, I had hurt her heart. Even so, throughout the lockdown or lock out, Mom continued being her regular self. She wasn’t rolling her eyes at me every time she looked my way or our paths crossed in the house. She didn’t even continue to remind me of my sin. We even laughed and joked and basically responded to each other normally although I was under lock and key. I didn’t enjoy the restrictions, but I accepted them because I knew I was guilty, and because I knew my mother and her rules deserved more respect than I had given them. When the disciplinary period ended, my privileges were reinstated. I was happy because of the receipt of my freedom, but the true joy came because of the full restoration of our relationship.

Psalm 30:5 says, “For His anger is but for a moment, his favor is for life; weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning” (NKJ). The Hebrew word for “anger” used in this verse (‘aph) contains the idea of forbearance or long-suffering, and carries the picture of a person breathing rapidly through the nose as one who would be doing his best to hold back from striking out. God can snuff us out because of our sin, but His anger is “but for a moment.” The disciplinary punishments will still prevail in our lives, but even as we go through them, His love for us won’t change. We’ll understand a little more about what our disobedience does to His heart, accept our guilt and His forgiveness, and recognize again that both He and His rules deserve more respect than we had given them. When our privileges are restored, we’ll have gained our freedom, but more so, we’ll experience the joy of the full restoration of our relationship with our ever-loving Heavenly Father.

______________________

©2017 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • 619hstwgsl-_sx331_bo1204203200_Join the movement!
  • 366 Glimpses of God: Getting to Know the God Who Knows You.
  • Start every day of your new year with one of these thoughtful devotional readings that will focus your attention on our amazing heavenly Father.

http://www.hsbn.tv/_store.html#!/366-Glimpses-of-God-Getting-to-Know-the-God-Who-Knows-You/p/77442498/category=15564996

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on May 15, 2017.

2 Responses to “5/15/17:Momentary Anger”

  1. What a great word picture Sharon. Thank you for this encouraging post.

  2. “Rejoice because your names are written in heaven.” Luke 10:20 (NKJV)

Leave a Reply

 
