11/26/16: It Is Not God’s Fault

images-2Comedian Flip Wilson made a fortune dressed as his comic character Geraldine. He had her deny all culpability for her outrageous behavior by proclaiming, “The devil made me do it!” If we could get away with it, most of us wouldn’t mind finding someplace else or someone else on which to place the blame for our wrongdoing. We hear excuses being bantered about all the time. “My workaholic mother neglected me, choosing the power of the boardroom over the peace of a bedtime story,” or “My father was an alcoholic who abused me,” or “teachers never took the necessary time to help me,” etc., ad infinitum.

What’s even worse than placing the blame for our screwed-up thinking on other people, is when we have the unmitigated gall to place the blame on God.

  • “I couldn’t reach my dream of playing in the NBA because God made me too short. That’s why I’ve been imgres-1forced to throw my life away to drug abuse.”
  • “God knows my body has needs, so that’s why I’m promiscuous and dependent upon government subsidy to feed my six kids.”
  • “I didn’t make this society so hard to live in. That’s why I cheat on my taxes, tap into my neighbor’s cable line, purchase bootleg CD’s, and lie about where I live so my kids can go to a better school. God knows I just have to beat the system.

This place-the-blame-on-God phenomenon is nothing new. Our first ancestor, Adam, started it in the Garden of Eden. The minute he was caught doing the first sin, instead of ‘fessin’ up, he threw Eve under the bus, and blamed God all in one sentence. (Okay, so buses weren’t invented yet, but you get the picture.) When directly asked by God if he had eaten of the tree he had been told not to eat from, Adam answered, “The woman whom You gave to be with me, she gave me of the tree, and I ate” Genesis 3:12 (NKJ).

imgres          Yes, it seems fewer and fewer of us want to step up to the plate and take responsibility for our own actions. James 1:13-15 shows clearly that our sinfulness is not God’s fault. “Let no one say when he is tempted, ‘I am tempted by God’; for God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does He Himself tempt anyone. But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed. Then, when desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, brings forth death” (NKJ).

God does not tempt us to sin. Our own flesh is our problem; it lures us toward evils. Spending time desiring those evils causes us to start planning to make those desires reality. When we make our sinful desires into realities – when we do the deed – sin happens. And sin always, always leads to death.

Today, let’s stop blaming God for our sin, realize the enticement lies within, and turn to God for the strength to avoid yielding to temptation.

___________________________

©2016 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

________________________________

Unknown-2Mission Trip Update! I think about Africa every day. My new Motherland friends and I stay in contact thanks to Facebook. God is the true international God; Jesus is the international Savior; the Holy Ghost is the international Spirit. Love for our God crosses country checkpoints without needing a passport or a visa.

________________________________

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on November 26, 2016.

One Response to “11/26/16: It Is Not God’s Fault”

  1. “Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent, and do the works you did at first.” Rev. 2:5 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

 
