10/23/16: Within Reach

unknownMy desk at home is set up so that all of my supplies are within easy reach. I can put my hands on my Synonym Finder when it’s time for me to make a great outline for a talk. My pens, pencils, highlighters, scissors, and letter opener are in a wire mesh cup to my right, next to the small matching bowl of paperclips, and the matching bin for current letters and files. On the left side of the disk are my pencil sharpener and another wire mesh bin holding note pads and stamps. Business cards, return address labels, staples, tape, and other oft-used items are in other parts of the desk. In the center, of course, is my computer. The rest of my office isn’t very big, so one desk chair swivel and a few steps connect me with all my writing life needs. When I’m working from home, my husband, with his sound advice, witty comments, and great cooking is also fortunately close at hand.

Like many other people in the United States a few years ago, I was at home working at this desk with everything close by because the job where I had been employed full time for the past 17 years went out of business. I couldn’t say, though, that I was unemployed thanks to Someone else who was within reach. Jeremiah 23:23 says, ‘“Am I a God near at hand,’ says the LORD, ‘And not a God afar off?’” (NKJ).

The answer to the question is, “Yes, God, You are near at hand; You’re not a God who is afar off.” The best thing I can have within reach at my desk is my God. Guess what? He’s within your reach too; He’s near at hand, not afar off. Whether you work behind a desk at home or from a high rise, at a school or in boardrooms, in front of a camera or behind the scenes – wherever you work, God is within reach. He’s the main supply we need.

________________________________

Unknown-2Mission Trip Update! We have been if Africa for almost two weeks and our visit is almost over. So many amazing things have happened, that I’m sure it will take months to process it all. We have ministered in Eldoret, Kenya; and in Lusaka, Zambia. We will be leaving in two days. Already it’s obvious to all of us that it will be extremely hard to say goodbye.

img_2036I asked for your prayers and you must have done an excellent job getting through to heaven. I asked for you to “pray that I can communicate God’s Word clearly and effectively.” Check. I asked you to “pray that my words [would be] packed with the power of the Holy Spirit and be effectual for the purpose of breaking strongholds, opening both physical and spiritual eyes, and softening the hearts of those who [would] come to know Jesus Christ for the first time.” I don’t know whether or not physically blind eyes were opened, but we definitely saw many, many people come to know Jesus. Check. Finally, it was my “desire to be an encouragement to those who are already working in the Gospel ministry.” Check.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The people of Kenya welcomed me home! Home — back to the place from which my ancestors were stolen many, many years ago. The people of Zambia extended that welcome, making me feel as though they truly wanted me to stay. They started missing me even as they were hugging me goodbye.

October 24 is Zambian Independence Day, so we will be here to celebrate with them. Then it’s to our packing and getting ready to take the long flights the next day back to the States. By the time we are home, we will have been on 8 airplanes. This has truly been a journey I will remember for the rest of my life. I’m definitely coming back to Africa one day soon.

On the journey,

Rev. Sharon

~ by sanewriter on October 23, 2016.

2 Responses to “10/23/16: Within Reach”

  1. “Follow Me and be My disciple.” Mark 2:14 (NLT)

    Reverent Elliot, congratulations on making disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and of the Holy Spirit.

    We love and miss you!

  2. Welcome Home Little Sis! I’m sure you have a lot to tell! But for now, God continue to bless your household!
    Big Brother Nick!

Leave a Reply

 
