9/6/16: Hurts, Scars, Forgiveness

images-3Years ago, I injured my hand while I was washing dishes. Under the suds, I gripped the dishcloth and placed my hand in a glass. Little did I know that the glass had an imperceptible crack in it. As I rotated the cloth to clean the bottom of the glass, the glass cracked and the sharp edge sliced my hand in two places. The cuts were so deep that they required stitches. For weeks, my dominate right hand was bandaged and virtually out of commission. It was difficult to perform even the most menial tasks.  Even though the glass did not continue to cut into my hand, the pain and inconvenience of the stitches and bandages still hindered my movement. Others could see I had been hurt. Those who depended upon me — especially my boys who were toddlers at the time — were also effected by the lack of my ability to use my right hand.

Little by little, my hand began to heal, and little by little, I was able to re-enter my world and do all the things I used to do with my right hand. Two things now remain after a full 27 years: the memory and the scar. The memory has caused me to wash glasses much more carefully, but I still wash them. The scar is hardly visible, and no one has ever noticed it or asked me anything about it. If someone did ask, I have a neat story to tell because I’ve learned some things from the incident.

imagesI learned that emotional injuries operate in the same way in our lives. Our hurts often spring from imperceptible cracks that already existed in those with whom we were dealing. Those cracks spring from the sin nature and everybody has one. Nobody is perfect. We connect and rub each other the wrong way, then we get injured. As with my glass in the water, the injury was not intentional nor malicious. The action of the glass was not premeditated. It didn’t mean to hurt me; it just happened.

So what should we do? As the injured party, the first instinct is to take care of the wound. Stop the bleeding; get stitched up. But what then? Just as it was not an option for me never to wash dishes again, withdrawal from ever dealing with those who hurt us is not an option either — not if we truly love each other as we have always said. Even the most menial, regular expressions may be difficult at first as the wound heals, but those expressions must be allowed to return. The Neosporin for an emotional wound is the salve of forgiveness.

images-1Cleanse the emotional wounds. How? Communicate. Talk and listen. Forgive. If we don’t, infection will set in and there will be pain and trouble for who knows how long. Irreparable damage can happen to ourselves, our loved ones, and our relationships when we wallow in our personal pain. We can become the sharp edge of the glass, slashing everyone else, or we can be gentle, realizing we’re handling glass from now on. Consider the Bible’s truths concerning these matters:

  • Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. (First Corinthians 13:4-5)
  • Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. (Colossians 3:13)

Forgiveness may set us up to be crushed again, but it is also the only way to set us up to be cherished again. images-2

________________________________

Unknown-2Mission Trip Update! 34 days to go! NOW THERE’S A $1,000.00 MATCHING GRANT! All donations sent between September 1 – September 26 will be matched up to $1,000.00. That means you’ll actually be helping with double the amount you send! I still need $1,800.00 – $2,300.00 for the hotels, food, visas, etc. Please do not hesitate. I really need your financial donations now. Donations so far have covered my air travel and my vaccinations.

The trip has been narrowed down to KENYA and ZAMBIA! I’ve seen the proof of the posters that will be passed out and the billboards that will be placed throughout the cities. I will be teaching at the Leader’s Seminars, encouraging the ladies at the Women’s Seminars, and preaching at the evening crusades. People travel all over the world every day, but it’s my first time and I’m pinching myself being sure it’s all actually real! Thank you in advance! You can give three ways:

  1. Via Paypal through my ministry website: http://www.lifethatmatters.net. Click “Donate.” [Remember that Paypal charges a 3-4% fee on my end.]
  2. By check sent to my post office box: P.O. Box 1519, Inglewood, CA 90308
  3. Via Paypal through the HSBN.tv website. (Be sure to let the network know your donation is for Rev. Sharon Elliott’s Africa trip.)

________________________________

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on September 6, 2016.

One Response to “9/6/16: Hurts, Scars, Forgiveness”

  1. Investing in a good pair of tweezers can also release those thorny thorns!

Leave a Reply

 
