8/29/16: The Do’s and Don’ts

images-1I’m one of those people who claim to believe the Bible. I actually go further than that; I claim to live by the Bible’s tenants. In other words, the don’ts matter to me. Even people who don’t claim to be Bible-thumpers know many of the don’ts although they have no intention of obeying. Don’t kill, don’t lie, don’t covet, don’t commit adultery, don’t fornicate, don’t gossip, don’t curse, don’t mark your body with tattoos (yeah, that’s in there, Leviticus 19:28), etc. Anyway, when it comes right down to it, it’s easy to restrict myself from doing the don’ts. Just don’t do it.

What’s much more difficult is obeying the do’s. When everything is going well, I can do the do’s: pay my tithes and offerings, keep the Sabbath day holy, pray without ceasing, love my neighbor, honor my parents, show reverence to my husband. But when money is tight; I need a restful weekend; I’m balancing my obligations on my own; and my neighbor, parents, and husband are acting in wretched, hateful ways, obeying those do’s are super hard. I feel like a chump, trying to act cheerful when my insides are churning because of the unrest and uncertainty of the situation.

If I believe the Bible (and I do), God will work all this out for me. I’ve seen Him do it before and I’ve got to believe He loves me enough to do it again. And just like before, I had no idea how He was going to do it, or when He was going to do it, or how much I’d have to go through before He did it, but He did it, and I was better for having trusted Him.

In our tough times, we probably feel like the children of Israel felt in Second Chronicles 20. They stood before the Lord knowing they had “no might against” their enemies (vs. 12). Then they were encouraged by the words of one of the Levites: “Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not yours, but God’s… Go down against them… Ye shall not need to fight… set yourselves, stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord with you” (vss. 15-17).

So if you’re in a place like I’m in, or the next time you’re there, apply the don’ts and dos of the above passage.

  • Don’t be afraid.
  • Don’t be dismayed.
  • Do stand your ground against whatever you are facing but know that you’ll need not fight.
  • Do set yourself (be strong) and stand still.
  • Do watch and you’ll see how the Lord who is with you will save you.

________________________

©2016 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com.

___________________________________

Unknown-2Mission Trip Update! 42 days to go! The trip has been narrowed down to KENYA and ZAMBIA! I’ve seen the proof of the posters that will be passed out and the billboards that will be placed throughout the cities. I will be teaching at the Leader’s Seminars, encouraging the ladies at the Women’s Seminars, and preaching at the nightly crusades. People travel all over the world every day, but it’s my first time and I’m pinching myself being sure it’s all actually real! Unless I receive a huge influx of donations in the next few days (by the end of August), I unfortunately won’t be able to take any books for the women and children. Donations so far have covered my air travel and my vaccinations. I still need $2,300.00 for the hotels, food, visas, and some spending money. Please do not hesitate. I really need your financial donations now. Thank you in advance! Click this link:  https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2016/03/31/33116-special-requestto go to the full request. You can give three ways:

  1. Via Paypal through my ministry website: http://www.lifethatmatters.net. Click “Donate.” [Remember that Paypal charges a 3-4% fee on my end.]
  2. By check sent to my post office box: P.O. Box 1519, Inglewood, CA 90308
  3. Via Paypal through the HSBN.tv website. (Be sure to let the network know your donation is for Rev. Sharon Elliott’s Africa trip.)

~ by sanewriter on August 29, 2016.

One Response to “8/29/16: The Do’s and Don’ts”

  1. Amen. Thank you. Marie

Leave a Reply

 
