7/26/16: Sorry for Sin

images-1Growing up, I remember being taught to say certain words at appropriate times. The “magic word” was “please,” and I was to say it whenever I made a request. “Thank you” was the fitting phrase when that request was granted or whenever someone graced me with an item or compliment. Acknowledgement of someone’s “hello” warranted at least that much in return. And if I accidently bumped a person, stepped on a toe, or otherwise invaded another’s space, the polite response was to be “I’m sorry.”

Perhaps it’s a function of our present societal viewpoint that I have unlimited, personal rights regardless of what I do to hurt others, that this last apt behavioral reply is lacking in our vocabulary when it comes to our relating to God. We do all we can to come up with excuses for our behavior, rather than simply admitting our wrong.

  • I didn’t know that was in the Bible.
  • I’m not as bad as those other people.
  • I do lots of other things right.
  • God knows my heart.
  • I was born this way.
  • Oh well; it’s done now.

Ezra exhibited the correct attitude when he found out about the blatant sin of the Jews returning from captivity. “So when I heard this thing, I tore my garment and my robe, and plucked out some of the hair of my head and beard, and sat down astonished… and I sat astonished until the evening sacrifice. At the evening sacrifice I arose from my fasting; and having torn my garment and my robe, I fell on my knees and spread out my hands to the LORD my God. And I said, ‘O my God, I am too ashamed and humiliated to lift up my face to You, my God; for our iniquities have risen higher than our heads, and our guilt has grown up to the heavens’” Ezra 9:3-6 (NKJ).

Our sin cost God dearly, and we ought to be not just sorry, but extremely sorry when we come to know we’ve sinned against Him. How dare we carry such a cavalier attitude about our missteps. It’s as if we don’t think we need to be sorry anymore because we live on this side of the grace provided by the Cross. Paul had an answer for this. “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it? Or do you not know that as many of us as were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life” Romans 6:1-4 (NKJ).

Thanks to Jesus, we no longer have to wallow in our guilt, but it’s still abundantly appropriate to be heartily sorry for our sin. Let’s tell God “I’m sorry” and mean it the next time we step on His toe.

___________________________

©2016 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

________________________________

Unknown-2Mission Trip Update! ZAMBIA AND OTHER SOUTH AFRICAN NATIONS, here I come! I started getting the necessary vaccinations for the trip and all that medication is really expensive. Our team will be purchasing our airfare soon. Then the next money due will be for our hotels, food, and visas. Finally, I want to take books for the women who attend the Power Suit Women’s Conferences. Please do not hesitate. I really need your financial donations now. Thank you in advance! Click this link:  https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2016/03/31/33116-special-requestto go to the full request. You can give three ways:

  1. Via Paypal through my ministry website: http://www.lifethatmatters.net (Click “Donate”)
  2. By check sent to my post office box: P.O. Box 1519, Inglewood, CA 90308
  3. Via Paypal through the HSBN.tv website. (Be sure to let the network know your donation is for Rev. Sharon Elliott.)

________________________________

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on July 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
