7/18/16: God’s Got Your Back

images-1My brother Nick is the oldest in our family and I’m the youngest; there are 14 years between us. When I was entering kindergarten, he had already started his Marine Corps career. At 5-years-old, I didn’t know much about how all the military worked, but I knew my big brother was a Marine, protecting the country, and that meant he was protecting me. I carried the notion in my mind that no bully would ever be able to intimidate me because all I needed to do was call my brother and the power of the United States Marine Corps would instantly come to my aid. Because of the relationship I had with my brother, no one could have convinced me otherwise.

When King Sennacherib of Assyria (the bully) decided to attack Judah, he presented a pretty convincing argument to King Hezekiah’s folks questioning God’s ability to defend them against him. He brought up the fact that he and his father before him had conquered many strong nations who had all appealed to their gods for protection but to no avail. In his mind, why should things be any different now? He boasted, “Who was there among all the gods of those nations that my fathers utterly destroyed that could deliver his people from my hand, that your God should be able to deliver you from my hand? Now therefore, do not let Hezekiah deceive you or persuade you like this, and do not believe him; for no god of any nation or kingdom was able to deliver his people from my hand or the hand of my fathers. How much less will your God deliver you from my hand?” 2 Chronicles 32:14-15 (NKJ)

Sennacherib went even farther. He developed a full-blown marketing plan to get his message out that God wasn’t able to help. He dispersed his servants among the people of God to speak against God (like paid public announcements), he wrote letters to revile the Lord (like pop-ups and junk mail), and he even advertised in a loud voice in Hebrew, the people’s own language.

Nevertheless, King Hezekiah reassured the people saying, “Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid nor dismayed before the king of Assyria, nor before all the multitude that is with him; for there are more with us than with him. With him is an arm of flesh; but with us is the LORD our God…” 2 Chronicles 32:7-8 (NKJ). Then he and the prophet Isaiah prayed and cried out to heaven. Sure enough, God routed the Assyrians, causing Sennacherib to flee “shamefaced to his own land,” (vs. 21) only to be murdered in his temple by his own sons.

Don’t let anybody talk you out of trusting God. It doesn’t matter what they say or how loud they say it to the contrary, God is who He says He is and will do what He says He will do. The latter part of Hebrews 11:6 makes this plain, “…he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him” (NKJ). God has got your back.

___________________________

©2016 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

________________________________

Unknown-2Mission Trip Update! ZAMBIA AND KENYA, here I come! I started getting the necessary vaccinations for the trip and all that medication is really expensive. Our team will be purchasing our airfare soon. Then the next money due will be for our hotels, food, and visas. Finally, I want to take books for the women who attend the Power Suit Women’s Conferences. Please do not hesitate. I really need your financial donations now. Thank you in advance! Click this link:  https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2016/03/31/33116-special-requestto go to the full request. You can give three ways:

  1. Via Paypal through my ministry website: http://www.lifethatmatters.net (Click “Donate”)
  2. By check sent to my post office box: P.O. Box 1519, Inglewood, CA 90308
  3. Via Paypal through the HSBN.tv website. (Be sure to let the network know your donation to for Rev. Sharon Elliott.)

________________________________

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on July 18, 2016.

One Response to “7/18/16: God’s Got Your Back”

  1. Praise God, Little Sister,
    I sincerely pray that I have in no way betrayed the trust you placed in me during the dark time of my life! Not that those years were so bad, it was the fact that I wasn’t acknowledging our Lord & Savior as that! But one thing I now realize, even though I was walking on the dark side of life, He was right there the entire time, keeping me safe & molding me to be what I am today! I isn’t what took me so long, but what the timeline of His plan called for. I love my entire blood family (those alive today & those who have gone on to glory) for their prayers on my behalf. And I thank our Heavenly Father for answering them! My you all have a blessed rest of your lives!

Leave a Reply

 
