4/5/16: Your Income Comes From Your Mouth

images    Unknown

Before starting the retreat company Milk & Honey Life Retreats, I shared with my thoughts about it with my friend Diana. God had placed several events in my life that had convinced me of the benefits that spiritual spa retreats would be for Christian women. My book Living a Milk & Honey Life had been published, I’d won and spent time at a great 3-day vacation at an amazing spa near Phoenix, AZ, and I’d just returned from meeting about 10 phenomenal women who encouraged me to carry out the new plan that was forming in my heart and head. Diana listened as I talked excitedly about this retreat idea.

A few months later, the next time Diana saw me, I handed her the tri-fold brochure advertising the upcoming retreat. I had registered Milk & Honey Life Retreats as a business, opened a business checking account, planned the program, rounded up the retreat faculty, launched a website, and secured Boulders Resort and Spa in Arizona for the 3-day event. She teased me about how the words we had discussed were actually now a concrete event.

The words of our mouths are powerful and can work in our lives both positively and negatively. We can speak either blessing or cursing over ourselves, so I plan, with God’s guidance, to consistently speak blessing into my life. Why spend time talking about dreams, goals, and visions if we do nothing about bringing those things to pass?

Proverbs 13:2 says, “A man shall eat well by the fruit of his mouth, but the soul of the unfaithful feeds on violence.” You see, what comes out of the mouth (“the fruit of his mouth”) is that which sustains us. And if the right words are coming out of our mouths, those words will move us into places that will pay off for our benefit. However, if we are unfaithful in the things God is directing us to do—if we refuse to talk those things up and follow through with them—we will end up looking to wrong things to sustain us.

Yes, the first part of this verse is a great encouragement to speakers; in fact, it applies directly to me as I receive my actual income from the words of my mouth as a teacher, preacher, and public speaker. The uplift from this verse, however, also applies to everyone not in the speaking business. What has God placed on your heart? Speak those dreams and visions. As you talk of them, they will become more and more real. Let God then direct you into your next steps so that the fruit of your mouth will cause you to eat well.

___________________________

Unknown-2  Africa Trip Update! What a blessing! A few donations have started to trickle in! Please consider sowing into this mission trip. Every dime you send will be used for the trip. Click this link:  https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2016/03/31/33116-special-requestto go to the full request with instructions on how to give toward this amazing ministry opportunity!

___________________________

©2016 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on April 5, 2016.

One Response to “4/5/16: Your Income Comes From Your Mouth”

  1. A while ago I attended a Christian writer’s retreat that you hosted. At that time I had many ideas of becoming involved with a Christian Outreach. Since then, the Lord has shaped me and made clear a vision to develop a Christian outreach to people affected by mental illness especially promoting the use of the Bible while the person was on the road to recovery. Since that time incredible books by devout Christians of deep faith have been published and numerous online ministries foundational and supportive of such an outreach have been developed. I ask you and all your friends especially readers of this blog to pray that God will provide solid ideas to become active in this much needed ministry for the rest of my life. Pray also that I find innovative ways to point people to Jesus Christ the answer to all life’s problems.

Leave a Reply

 
