3/13/16: To-Do Lists

images

Sure, I write books and articles, devotions and talks, but some of my most prolific writing happens on small pieces of paper; I write to-do lists. Yes, I have to-do lists jotted on multi-colored sticky notes, scribbled in tiny notepads in my car, printed out from the computer, and scrawled in little booklets in my purse. I’m ecstatic when I receive that advertising junk mail that includes return address labels and a notepad—more paper on which I can write more to-do lists!

Checking off the items on my to-do lists not only keeps me focused, but gives me a sense of daily accomplishment. I’m a master multi-tasker, so these tiny pieces of paper help me to prioritize, keep me moving forward, and assist me in fulfilling all the duties I’ve undertaken. They help me keep my word.

My to-do lists have a spiritual foundation. God commands just this kind of thing in Numbers, chapter 15. God told Moses to tell the children of Israel, “…to make tassels on the corners of their garments throughout their generations, and to put a blue thread in the tassels of the corners. And you shall have the tassel, that you may look upon it and remember all the commandments of the LORD and do them, and that you may not follow the harlotry to which your own heart and your own eyes are inclined, and that you may remember and do all My commandments, and be holy for your God. I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, to be your God: I am the LORD your God” Numbers 15:38-41 (NKJ).

Those blue-thread tassels were reminders, just like my to-do lists. I look at my lists to remember what I’m supposed to do that day; they looked at the tassels to remember the commandments of the Lord they were to follow for that day. Whenever one of the children of Israel faced a situation, she looked at those tassels and remembered the Lord’s command for that moment. She could then make the quality decision to do what God would have her to do.

Let’s make a conscious effort to remember God’s commands concerning everything we face. Perhaps a WWJD (What would Jesus do?) bracelet is not such a bad idea. Carrying key Scriptures on index cards might help. Reading your Bible daily, even if it’s just a chapter at a time, would be a start to keep God’s word fresh in the mind. And to remember what God has said to you, never under-estimate the power of writing yourself a little note—you guessed it—on a to-do list.

___________________________

©2016 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

Links you won’t want to miss: 

  • Watch Sharon in two shows on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network: 
    • Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott, and
    • A View from the Upper Room

from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv

(Stream current show or view past episodes anytime!)

img-life-that-matters

  • Pick up a copies of Sharon’s books for yourself and as gifts for your family members and friends!

Trouble copy 2

Boomerangs FrontCover

Boomerangs Videolink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Unknown-4

Sharon’s other books still available:

Unknown   Unknown-1   Unknown-3Unknown-2   Unknown-5

~ by sanewriter on March 13, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
