12/2/15: I Have Heard of You

images-4

Someone once accused me of wanting to be famous. In a way, I suppose there’s some truth to that. I write books that are more than personal journals, so I expect for others to purchase and read them. I compose this daily devotional blog that I send out for others to read. I speak at conferences, and produce a weekly Internet TV show that’s broadcast on The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network (www.hsbn.tv). The comment about wanting fame strikes me wrong though, because the accusation carries with it the idea that I am seeking recognition solely for myself. The truth of the matter is that in all I do, I am seeking recognition, but I am seeking it for my God. God is using the resources of our times—the books, the blog, the speaking engagements, and the TV show—to expand my territory because I’ve been commissioned to take land for Him. All I do is aimed at turning eyes toward Jesus and helping others to give Him glory with their lives.

The godly life Daniel led propelled him into prominence. He had lived before the great king Nebuchadnezzar in such a way that the king eventually had to acknowledge God himself. When the king’s son, Belshazzar, came along, just by being who he was and living his consistent, holy lifestyle, Daniel received another opportunity to testify of God before the leader of the land. God wrote a message on the wall directly to Belshazzar that none of the palace magicians could interpret. The queen remembered Daniel’s gift and suggested he be called in. When Daniel arrived before the king, Belshazzar said, “I have heard of you, that the Spirit of God is in you, and that light and understanding and excellent wisdom are found in you… And I have heard of you, that you can give interpretations and explain enigmas…”  Daniel 5:14 and 16 (NKJ).

So, for my accuser, here’s my heart’s response. As we give God glory in all we do, we won’t be able to help the fact that attention will be turned to us. The spotlights of men have no other choice than to notice they are being outshined by the glory of the Lord. Moses’ face shone because he had been in the presence of the Lord and other people naturally saw the glow.

“I have heard of you.” When people say this of us, what is it that they have heard? How would others complete the phrase, “I have heard of you, that…”? If what they have heard flows out of our relationship with the Almighty, we’re on the right track. We must refuse to allow the accusers to redefine the intention of our work.

May your fame be upon you because you follow the Lord’s plan for your life and continue to point the way to Him.

____________________________

©2015 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 

ANNOUNCEMENT: Watch The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network’s new internet TV show Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott from any internet-connected device at www.HSBN.tv. (Stream current show Monday, Wednesday, and Friday; or view past episodes anytime!)

 

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Trouble-copy-2 

Why I Get Into Trouble as well as other favorites, Boomerangs to Arrows, and Power Suit

Why I Get Into Trouble link to our eStore: https://www.createspace.com/5131814

Boomerangs FrontCover 

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

(Boomerangs Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk )

Power Suit Cover 

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

~ by sanewriter on December 2, 2015.

One Response to “12/2/15: I Have Heard of You”

  1. It is not what you call me, it is what I answer to.

Leave a Reply

 
