4/15/15: Recyclable Blessings

1rtKraaBdnJbdQR8EehJw8eNjUBBvGgYUnXT_OvyOc5ZDcUspvHftRc4PO2dbI0oi272kZo=s85

#LifeThatMatters

Joshua 17 – 18 talks about the Promised Land being divided up among the tribes of the children of Israel. Luke 12:1-31 records Jesus talking about not worrying about material things. As shown to the Israelites in Old Testament times, and as spoken to His followers in the first century, be it land, food, or clothing, God is perfectly able to provide everything we need.

In response to these readings, I surveyed my life and was compelled to stop and thank God for all the ways He provides for me. He sent me my husband, He provided me with my job, He blessed me with children and grand-children, and He gave me my gifts that are now providing me with opportunities to bless others.

That’s the coolest part of receiving from God; He gives us recyclable blessings. Everything that comes from God has potential to be given by the recipient to someone else.

  • My mom taught me to sew. I designed and made the nursery bedding and curtains for my boys’ nursery. Other women saw my nursery, and that sewing gift from my mother became my New Blessings Interiors business that designed nurseries for other children.
  • My grandmother started me taking piano lessons. I learned well enough to accompany several children’s choirs over the years. Later, I began to compose praise music and Christian children’s musicals.
  • My father and mother encouraged in me a love for books and now I write them in several different genres.

When it comes to God’s provisions, everything He gives can be reimagined and passed back as a blessing, an encouragement, a service, and some enlightenment for someone else. When it comes to the gifts God has given, be a pipeline, not a dam.

____________________________

©2015 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

ANNOUNCEMENT: Get ready to watch The Holy Spirit Broadcasting Network’s new internet TV show Life That Matters with Sharon Norris Elliott from any internet-connected device at http://www.HSBN.tv.

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Why I Get Into Trouble

Here’s the link to our eStore: https://www.createspace.com/5131814

Also still available:

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children

available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame

from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

~ by sanewriter on April 15, 2015.

One Response to “4/15/15: Recyclable Blessings”

  1. I have seen so many ways God has used seemingly insignificant things to His glory and my joy later.

Leave a Reply

 
