1/13/15: Friendship and Blessings

images-1

#HeartForTheWord

Okay, I admit it; I love people. I also love loving people. I mean both possible understandings of that last statement. I love being the one who loves, and I love the kind of people who show love. Over the years, God has graciously caused my path to cross with some amazing people who have become those loving friends and I’ve held on for dear life.

It’s okay to be selective when it comes to love and friendships. Yes, we are commanded to love one another as Christ has loved us, and this command concerns the basic Christian attitude we should have for everyone on the planet. However, in our personal, intimate dealings as finite human beings, we have the freedom to choose those who we will hold especially close; after all, close friendships require time and there’s only so much of us to go around.

Jesus is our prime example. Though He obviously loved and lived for all humanity, He hung out with 12 chosen guys into whom He especially poured His life and with whom He shared His ministry. Jesus’ disciples realized that by hanging around the Master, they got blessed. He blessed them by giving all He had for them, and they blessed Him in return by giving all they had for Him.

When Jacob wanted to part from Laban, Laban realized something profound about the relationship. “Laban said to him, ‘Please stay, if I have found favor in your eyes, for I have learned by experience that the LORD has blessed me for your sake’” Genesis 30:27 (NKJ). In other words, Laban saw that God was blessing Jacob’s life and realized that his own life was much better off since having Jacob around. Obviously, some of God’s blessings were spilling over into Laban’s life just because he kept Jacob close.

I know my life is richer by far because of my friends, and I join in Laban’s sentiment that “I have learned by experience that the Lord has blessed me” because they are in my life. Let’s recognize today how God has blessed our lives because of people He’s allowed us to meet. And may we be smart enough to hang around people God is blessing. Some of that overflow is bound to come our way.

____________________________

©2015 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Why I Get Into Trouble

Here’s the link to our eStore: https://www.createspace.com/5131814

Also still available:

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children

available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame

from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

~ by sanewriter on January 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
