2/12/14: Time to Exhale

#HeartForTheWord

Isn’t it nice to be assured of something good? The Merriam Webster online dictionary defines assurance as “a being certain in the mind, confidence of mind or manner, easy freedom from self-doubt or uncertainty.” In other words, when we are assured of something, it’s time to exhale. We can relax. At least regarding that particular issue, we can be certain, secure, and confident.

Five little words in the book of Micah moved me to think about the wonderful assurance we have in our heavenly Father. The end of Micah 7:7 says, “…my God will hear me.” If you read this verse in context, the prophet has just spent several chapters talking about how bad things are going to be for God’s people because of their sin. By contrast now, he starts saying what he will do as one who still trusts the Lord. All of verses 7 and 8 read as follows:

  • “Therefore I will look to the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me. Do not rejoice over me, my enemy; when I fall, I will arise; when I sit in darkness, the LORD will be a light to me” Micah 7:7-8 (NKJ).

Notice Micah’s affirmations because of the assurance he has in his God.

  • I will look to the Lord.
  • I will wait for God.
  • My God will hear me.
  • I will arise.
  • The Lord will be my light.

 

God has not changed. As we continue to turn to Him, He will continue to hear us and move on our behalf. Blind hymn writer Fanny J. Crosby, who wrote hundreds of hymns in her lifetime, penned the classic favorite that captures this idea. If you know the tune, sing along:

Verse 1: Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine! O what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchased of God, Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

Refrain: This is my story, this is my song, praising my Savior all the day long;
this is my story, this is my song, praising my Savior all the day long.

Verse 2: Perfect submission, perfect delight! Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels descending bring from above, Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Verse 3: Perfect submission, all is at rest! I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above, Filled with his goodness, lost in His love.

Whether we call it exhaling or blessed assurance, it’s all the same thing. What a wonderful feeling to have confidence in God! Worship God in whom we can have complete confidence.

____________________________

©2014 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children

available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

 at bookstores, and on all major online book buying sites.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Also still available:

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame

from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

 

 

~ by sanewriter on February 12, 2014.

2 Responses to “2/12/14: Time to Exhale”

  1. […] Recommended Article FROM https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/21214-time-to-exhale/ […]

  2. “Blessed assurance Jesus is Mine”…….   I’m singing but not raising my hands!!!  Good one friend.

    Mary

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

 
