1/31/14: Sunrises and Sunsets

#HeartForTheWord

Sunrise

I leave for work each morning before daybreak and endure a longer commute than I like. In fact, I love my job but completely hate my commute. The long travel really messes with my internal rhythm because as a night person, my best creativity happens late. But I have to force myself to go to bed so I can get up at the crack of dawn to make the grueling drive once again. Throw in the ridiculous price of gas and I’m really up a creek.

The one saving grace to my commute is the fact that I drive east in the morning and west in the evening. This means that at least during Daylight Savings Time, I get the benefit of gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. When I pull out of my driveway, I always look up to see if there are some clouds. That means that by the time I’m halfway to work, the sun’s rays will edge over the curve of the earth and illuminate those clouds, painting them vivid yellows and oranges! The same excitement wells up when I’m on the way home because if I hit the freeway just right, instead of the sun’s glare, I’ll catch those rays coloring the clouds again just before it goes to bed for the evening.

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights” James 1:17 (NKJ). Although I can’t stand the drive, I’m grateful for the gifts of the sunrises and sunsets I can enjoy almost every morning. Worship God today because He’s the gift-giver.

©2014 Sharon Norris Elliott

~ by sanewriter on January 31, 2014.

One Response to “1/31/14: Sunrises and Sunsets”

  1. Sharon, I can totally relate. I had a 172 mile round trip commute to work. When you have to drive that far you have to ask God to bless you with his works. I use to take pictures as sat idle in traffic as i marveled over God’s free gifts to us each day.

    I am happy to know that even though you are across the country in a different time zone, you too was sharing in His gifts for us. Agape’

Leave a Reply

 
