1-14-14: Birthdays

#HeartForTheWord

Today is my birthday. My husband already kicked off the celebration with a dinner this past weekend at a swanky restaurant and an amazing gift! He’s incredibly smooth and gives me wonderfully thoughtful gifts that show me he believes in me and supports my dreams.

And thanks to Facebook and My Birthday Alarm reminders, folks from all over the country and from the memories of my past have already started showing up online to wish me a happy day. One woman also wished me a great week, month, and year, so I inquired as to whether that gave me license to celebrate all week, month, and year as well. Couldn’t hurt to ask.

What I do know is that I feel like shouting to the top of my lungs, “Praise the Lord. Thank You, Jesus. Glory to God. Hallelujah!” The older I get, the more precious every day becomes. I really don’t take a single day for granted any more. I’m grateful for every hour, every conversation, every family member, and every friend. I feel as though I’ve hit my stride smack dab in the middle of life (I obviously plan to live quite a while), and I want to be sure the second half counts. I want to live significantly, to leave a legacy, to live a life that matters. I want my life to represent so much more than the dash that will be engraved on my grave marker.

To reach that end of counting, and mattering, and leaving a legacy, and representing, I’m following in the footsteps of the One who matters most. This birthday commemorates the day my name was inscribed on my birth certificate, but it pales in comparison to the significance of the birthday that got my name signed in the Lamb’s Book of Life. Now my actions count for eternity, and I’m excited to see what God will do with me each day.

Jesus told Nicodemus, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God” John 3:3 (NKJ). And Second Corinthians 5:17 says, “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new” (KJV). I don’t mind sharing my day. January 14th is a great day to celebrate my first birth, and will be a great day to celebrate your rebirth! Come to know Jesus. Invite Him in to your heart. You will immediately become new in Him, and will embark upon an amazing journey through the rest of your life with Jesus right by your side. Let’s worship God for His ability to transform us with His life.

(c)2014 Sharon Norris Elliott

~ by sanewriter on January 14, 2014.

One Response to “1-14-14: Birthdays”

  1. Sharon ~ how wonderful to wish you a very Happy Birthday! It is evident that you KNOW the Lord has been good to you. May His goodness and mercy follow you every day of your life…of which I pray there are many more! I wish you rich blessings (and some birthday cake!) ~ Nanc / Gracefully Free

Leave a Reply

 
