10/8/13: God’s Bucket List

#HeartForTheWord

Do you have a bucket list? Lately I’ve been thinking about mine. Just what is it that I really want to do before I die? So far, I have the thoughts in my head and my heart, but I haven’t actually committed all of them to paper. I have noticed, though, that the items for my list lean more toward accomplishments than feats. Once completed, my list won’t include skydiving, mountain climbing, bungee jumping, or motocross racing. There are some selfish things I want for myself and my family, but by and large, my list consists of the goals for the kingdom of God I hope to have realized before I meet Jesus face-to-face.

 

God has somewhat of a bucket list for us. He’s eternal, so it’s not a list He expects to accomplish before He dies. His list consists of what He desires to accomplish in us before we die. God’s bucket list is found in Jeremiah 29:11. “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope” (NKJ).

 

God’s heart beats to give us a future and to give us hope. This heartbeat extends from His affectionate thoughts toward us—thoughts of peace and not of evil. If we are not experiencing the fruits of God’s tender thoughts toward us, if we are not hopeful, and if we are not looking ahead to bright tomorrows, the problem is us and not God. Look at the very next verses that follow this revelation of God’s thoughts toward us. God says, “Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart” Jeremiah 29:12-13 (NKJ).

 

We will begin to experience life in the flow of God’s plans for us when we regularly call on Him, pray to Him, seek for Him, and search for Him with our whole heart. At first glance, God seems to be giving us double talk in these verses. He says we should call and pray, and we should seek and search. He’s not just saying these words for emphasis. God wants us to “call” Him by name. He wants to know that we know upon whom we are relying. Then He wants us to “pray,” that is, to mentally judge Him as the one to whom we are interceding and sending our supplications. To “seek” means we are striving after God. He wants us to diligently seek Him rather than just use Him when we’re in a bind (see Hebrews 11:6). Finally, “searching” for God involves pursuing Him in worship.

 

You see, to call and pray and seek and search after God with our whole heart is the combination for unlocking the treasures of God’s heart toward us. God longs to see us realize His bucket list of hope and a future. Call, pray, seek, and search starting today and experience all God intends for your life.

(C)2012 Sharon Norris Elliott

~ by sanewriter on October 8, 2013.

One Response to “10/8/13: God’s Bucket List”

  1. Father God, we thank you for your unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

 
