9/27: Get Out of My Face

#HeartForTheWord

9/27: Get Out of my Face

 

The rare occasion happened a while back in which a friend of mine and I got into an argument. I like to work things out right then and there. I don’t care how long it takes. I want to move away from an argument feeling my point has been made and understood and with the other person feeling validated as well. At the end, I want things settled so the same discomfort won’t have to happen again.

That’s not how this altercation ended. Our conversation came to an abrupt end when, as I was in mid-sentence, my friend said, “Get out of my face,” and then turned and walked away.

That comment pounded into my gut as surely as a physical punch would have. “Get out of my face” meant “I care nothing at all about what you’re saying, refuse to respect your right to say it, and banish you from being welcome in my presence.” For days, I carried a hurt in the pit of my stomach as we silently passed each other with no resolution. Eventually, we were able to work things out and restore our friendship, but those days of suffering because of the estrangement affected me deeply and I never want to get to that place in our relationship again.

Sometimes we argue with God. We go back and forth with Him when our actions indicate we don’t intend to follow Him with our whole hearts, but we show up at church on Sunday morning raising our hands in worship. When this is the case, God is ready to say to us, “Get out of my face.” His people tried that before and the word of the Lord came to Isaiah saying, “Bring no more futile sacrifices… I cannot endure iniquity and the sacred meeting… When you spread out your hands, I will hide My eyes from you; even though you make many prayers, I will not hear. Your hands are full of blood” Isaiah 1:13-15 (NKJ).

.            There should be a knot in the pit of our stomachs to realize we can be estranged from the fellowship we have with our best Friend, Jesus; our loving Parent, God; and our amazing Counselor, the Holy Spirit. (After all, we must realize that when we offend one, we offend them all because the three are one.) We should never want to get to that place in the relationship.

Thankfully, God gives us a way to reconcile. “Wash yourselves, make yourselves clean; put away the evil of your doings from before My eyes. Cease to do evil, Learn to do good; seek justice, rebuke the oppressor; defend the fatherless, plead for the widow. Come now, and let us reason together… Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool. If you are willing and obedient, you shall eat the good of the land; But if you refuse and rebel, you shall be devoured by the sword” Isaiah 1:16-20.

I hope my friend and I never get into a contention again that separates us like before. Let’s not get that way with God either.

____________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children

available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

 at bookstores, and on all major online book buying sites.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Also still available:

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame

from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

~ by sanewriter on September 27, 2013.

2 Responses to “9/27: Get Out of My Face”

  1. Hi to every body, it’s my first go to see of this webpage; this webpage includes awesome and genuinely fine data in support of visitors.

  2. Trying to save face?

Leave a Reply

 
