9/9/13: God Guards Our Heart

I couldn’t hear God as I read my Bible one morning because there was turmoil in my life. I tried and tried to concentrate on what I was reading, but kept finding my mind drifting to my troubles. I begged God for a word from Him. Thankfully, He spoke, but not from the passages I was reading. He brought to my mind a familiar passage, perfectly fitted for my present situation.

Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (NKJ).

I know these verses by heart. At first, it seemed not too comforting for God to be telling me, “Just stop trippin’.” How am I supposed to stop being upset when upsetting stuff is going on? Then God pulled my attention to the last phrase. That’s it. I need my heart and my mind guarded. Confusion and troubles are designed by our great enemy to turn our minds and hearts from God. When we are troubled, our thoughts dwell on ourselves and not on God. We wonder what we should do; we justify our feelings and our actions; and we worry about how things are going to turn out. I wasn’t trying to operate this way; in fact, I have been in constant communication with God, but I still found my mind overwhelmed and my heart breaking and in pain.

I’ve figured out that it comes down to whether or not I really trust God’s word. I know I do, so no matter what I’m feeling, I must put my foot down on the fact that God’s Word is true – the spiritual is in control of the physical – and that’s that. God’s Word says that God’s peace will station a guard around my feelings (my heart) and my thoughts (my mind). I didn’t get what I needed from the particular passage I wanted to read in my morning Bible-reading routine, but God’s Word still had a word for me – a word for where I was on my journey with Him. He then graciously led me to other words of encouragement from his heart to mine.

 

  • Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. Psalm 37:5 (KJV)
  • But the meek shall inherit the earth, and shall delight themselves in the abundance of peace. Psalm 37:11 (NKJ)
  • Cast your burden on the LORD, and He shall sustain you; he shall never permit the righteous to be moved. Psalm 55:22 (NKJ)
  • Great peace have those who love Your law, and nothing causes them to stumble. Psalm 119:165 (NKJ)
  • I pour out my complaint before Him; I declare before Him my trouble. When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then You knew my path. Psalm 142:2-3 (NKJ)
  • But glory, honor, and peace to everyone who works what is good… Romans 2:10 (NKJ)
  • Rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer; Romans 12:12 (NKJ)
  • Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. Hebrews 4:16 (NKJ)

 

Sometimes, we just have to be determined to believe God’s word even when everything around us – and even everything within us – shouts the opposite.

____________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children

available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

 at bookstores, and on all major online book buying sites.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Also still available:

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame

from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

~ by sanewriter on September 9, 2013.

2 Responses to “9/9/13: God Guards Our Heart”

  1. […] Recommended Article FROM https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/9913-god-guards-our-heart/ […]

  2. thank you sister> you always have a word in season for me. I look foward to your message’s

Leave a Reply

 
