9/5/13: His World; His Rules

I’ve entered friends’ houses where I have to take off my shoes before I can walk on their carpet. I’ve been the main speaker in some churches where, before I was a licensed minister, I couldn’t deliver my message from the pulpit. In department stores, I’ve passed by doors marked “Employees Only.” And I understand when you meet the Queen of England, you aren’t allowed to touch her.

Everywhere we go, there are rules that may seem silly to us. I could debunk all of the above examples with the excuses that I wiped the bottoms of my shoes, my message will be coming from God’s word no matter where I stand, it’s a shorter distance to walk if I use the employees’ door, and the Queen looks like she needs a hug. Nevertheless, I abide by the rules because it’s not my house, my church, my store, or my country. Their house; their rules. And we know that if we break those rules, we can expect the corresponding consequences.

Why then is it so difficult to see the world this way? God made it; heck, He made us. Whether we understand them or not, whether we agree with them or not, He’s made the rules for us and for His world. The cool thing is that God’s rules are not arbitrary. There is a rhyme and reason to them that are about His glory and from His love for us. So when we disagree and disobey, the consequences are our own fault. In explaining this to the people in the book of Nehemiah, the Levites put it this way:

  • However You are just in all that has befallen us; for You have dealt faithfully, but we have done wickedly. Nehemiah 9:33 (NKJ)

The last stanza of one of Frank Sinatra’s most famous songs sums up the view of many of us.

  • For what is a man, what has he got?
    If not himself, then he has naught.
    To say the things he truly feels;
    And not the words of one who kneels.
    The record shows I took the blows –
    And did it my way!

There’s one huge problem with this sentiment: we are not our own. If all man has is himself, he is truly a pathetic soul. We are responsible to the God of the universe, and sooner or later, we indeed will kneel. Look at the record in both the Old and New Testaments:

  • Isaiah 45:22-24 – Look to Me, and be saved, all you ends of the earth! For I am God, and there is no other. I have sworn by Myself; the word has gone out of My mouth in righteousness, and shall not return, that to Me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall take an oath. He shall say, ‘Surely in the LORD I have righteousness and strength. To Him men shall come, and all shall be ashamed who are incensed against Him.’ (NKJ)
  • Philippians 2:9-11 – Therefore God also has highly exalted Him and given Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. (NKJ)

So take your shoes off, speak from the small lecturn, use the public door, don’t touch the Queen, and obey God. You’ll avoid both hassle and hell. Not a bad deal.

____________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s newest release,

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children

available from Judson Press (http://www.judsonpress.com/product.cfm?product_id=17387),

 at bookstores, and on all major online book buying sites.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2JH_gbinMk

Also still available:

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame

from New Hope Publishers (http://www.newhopedigital.com/2010/08/power-suit/)

 

 

~ by sanewriter on September 5, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
