8/10: Just Do God

At the end of each school year, the final chapel service at a school where I taught was conducted by the outgoing senior class. After they gave the message, they each spoke from their hearts to the remaining students. Every year, it was the same admonition: don’t procrastinate, you’ll be sorry; listen to the teachers, we found out they really did know what they were talking about; etc. One year, however, one student told them something different. Brittney said, “Just do you. You’re probably going to keep on being lazy and waiting until the last minute anyway just like I did. And you’ll probably end up working hard to make things up just like I’m doing. I hope I graduate and I hope you graduate, but since you’re not going to listen anyway, just do you.”

Brittney’s sarcastic advice was given to let the upcoming classes see that it would actually be an ignorant move to continue doing things their way. Hopefully, her listeners would be astute enough to figure, “Wow, if I “just do me,” I will end up struggling and possibly missing graduation. I need to change and do things some other way.”

I thought of Brittney’s advice as I read of the widow of Zarephath in I Kings 17:8-24. She was going about “just doing her.” There was a severe famine in the land and Elijah requested that she bring him some water and a little bread. Knowing she was down to her last little bit of flour and oil, she told him she was gathering sticks to cook that last meal for herself and her son and then they’d have no more and would die. Elijah said to her, “Do not fear; go and do as you have said, but make me a small cake from it first, and bring it to me; and afterward make some for yourself and your son. For thus says the LORD God of Israel: ‘The bin of flour shall not be used up, nor shall the jar of oil run dry, until the day the LORD sends rain on the earth'” I King 17:13-14 (NKJ).

In essence, Elijah told the widow, “Don’t do you right now. Do God. By doing for me, God will do for you.” The amazing thing is that she actually changed her plan. The provisions she had did not line up with the directive she was being given, but her attitude was, “No matter what the circumstances, I’ll do God before I’ll do me.”

Today, no matter what the provisions look like, listen to the Spirit, change your plan, and just do God.

____________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

Pick up a copy of Sharon’s book,

Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame,

available from New Hope Publishers, and Sharon’s newest release,

Boomerangs to Arrows: A Godly Guide for Launching Young Adult Children, available for pre-sale from www.JudsonPress.com and all major online book buying sites.

~ by sanewriter on August 10, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
