6/14: Take a Walk

Genesis 5:24 tells us that “Enoch walked with God; and he was not, for God took him” (NKJ). What a testimony! Is it possible to get to the place where we too are known by the tagline “Walked with God”?

The Psalmist touched on how we can make this possible. Psalm 73:23-24 says, “Nevertheless I am continually with You; You hold me by my right hand. You will guide me with Your counsel, And afterward receive me to glory” (NKJ).

The word “continually” comes from the Hebrew word “tamiyd” which in turn comes from a root meaning “to stretch.” Think of the picture of a little child walking with her father and having to stretch her strides to keep up with his. She never gives up or stops, so in order not to lag too far behind, she stretches her strides to continually or persistently keep up with his.

The picture broadens even more when we realize that the father is holding the child’s hand as they walk together. The Hebrew word for “hold” is “achaz” which means “grasp, seize, and take possession.” In other words, the father has taken hold of the child’s hand on purpose; he has reached for her, not the other way around.

The final part of the picture is found in the word “guide.” That Hebrew word is “nachah” which means “to lead and bring.” The father not only is holding the child’s hand on purpose, he’s holding it with a purpose in mind—to take her someplace specific.

When we walk with God, our determination must be to continually keep up with His steps. However, when it seems rough, we can have no fear of being able to keep up, because He is holding our hand. Let’s not pull away. Be assured that He is guiding us to the exact places where He wants us to be. And when our walk on earth is over, like Enoch, we will just keep walking as He receives us to glory.

So take a walk, a continual walk with God. Come to think of it, I want that to be my legacy. After my name and the dates of my life, on my tombstone write “She walked with God.”

________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

~ by sanewriter on June 14, 2013.

One Response to “6/14: Take a Walk”

  1. Walk with me Lord, walk with me, while I am on this tedious journey, I want you Lord to walk with me. Hold my hand Lord, hold my hand…

Leave a Reply

 
