4/28: Relationship, Fellowship, and Peace

 

There is no safer place on the planet than being held in the strong arms of a loving father. There’s just something about realizing that the muscular arms that can build playhouses, repair leaky faucets, and do whatever they do to provide a life for me, are eager to protectively wrap around me. When a loving relationship exists between father and child, this is how it should be. The relationship is secure, fellowship is sweet, and peace reigns. However, if either party somehow disturbs the peace, fellowship can be broken, even though the relationship still exists.

All three – relationship, fellowship, and peace – are necessary for us to experience healthy families and for us to have a healthy, balanced view of God. If I say I have a relationship with my father, yet I have no fellowship with him, I will not experience peace in his presence. When I disobey or do something to hurt him, I begin to tear myself away and start distancing myself because I know I’ll have to face up to him about my issue. I, therefore, must take my part of the responsibility for the peace and humbly face my father when I’ve fallen. That is, after all, when I most urgently need him.

On the other hand, fathers have a responsibility too. Because of the relationship that exists, they are there to extend not only discipline and advice, but love, mercy, and most of all, those strong protective arms. No matter how much the child may feel bad and reach out to apologize, if the father does not extend his hand and heart back, fellowship will not exist and peace will not be restored.

As it is in the physical realm, so it is in the spiritual realm. As children in relationship with our Heavenly Father, we mess up constantly; yet the assurance exists that we can still maintain fellowship with God and experience peace in His presence because He extends His arms to us.

A relationship with sweet fellowship and peace takes two. Philippians 4:6-7 gives us both sides of the relationship equation. Verse 6 tells us our part, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God.” Verse 7 tells us God’s part, “And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (NKJ).

In a true relationship, children always long for the arms of their fathers, and fathers always long for the closeness of their children. Both strive and reach for each other, neither giving up until there’s fellowship and peace.

God’s always doing His part. Are we doing ours?

________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

~ by sanewriter on April 28, 2013.

One Response to “4/28: Relationship, Fellowship, and Peace”

  1. Jesus loved me first.

Leave a Reply

 
