3/15: Warning Signs

 

The yellow light on the traffic signal means, “Watch out, the light is going to turn red soon and you will have to stop.” Many of us don’t see that yellow light as a warning to slow down, but as an opportunity to make it through the intersection more quickly, thus keeping our forward progress to our destination unhindered. We may even gun our motor and blow our horn, brazenly announcing, “It’s still my right-of-way; I’m coming through!”

Well technically, it is your right-of-way to go until the red light shines, actually signaling for you to stop. However, all right-of-ways aren’t necessarily good for you to take. For example, King Solomon was doing great. He asked God for wisdom to rule the people, and God was so pleased with his humility, that He made him not only the wisest man who ever lived, but the richest. Solomon even fulfilled all that his father David left him to do by building a magnificent temple to the Lord. He had a right get married, but he didn’t heed God’s warning signs in this area of his life. In essence, he honked his horn and told God, “It’s my right-of-way; I’m coming through.” Look at 2 Chronicles 8:11:

  • “Now Solomon brought the daughter of Pharaoh up from the City of David to the house he had built for her, for he said, “My wife shall not dwell in the house of David king of Israel, because the places to which the ark of the LORD has come are holy.” (NKJ)

Solomon obviously knew he was treading on thin ice if he felt uncomfortable about bringing his wife to the place where he worshipped his God. In fact, God had clearly warned all the Israelite men against intermarrying with foreign women, not out of a prejudice, but because God knew the women would turn the men’s hearts away from Him and to foreign gods.* And sure enough, I Kings 11:1-10 tells us the sad case of how Solomon totally lost his way by marrying many foreign women, building temples for his wives’ gods, and worshipping with them as well.

When we take one baby step outside of the will of God, we tread onto a slippery slope from which, if we’re not careful, there may be no return. You are no match for sin. You cannot dabble around its edges and not expect to be caught up. There is truth in old sayings; that’s why they’ve stuck around for so long. Here are four that apply today:

  • Nip things in the bud.
  • You can’t expect to play with fire and not get burnt.
  • Every generation will learn that the stove is hot.
  • You will come to believe that fat meat is greasy.

More seriously, consider 1 Corinthians 6:12, “All things are lawful for me, but all things are not helpful. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any” (NKJ). Instead of insisting upon your rights, heed God’s warnings – His yellow lights. Slow down, stop, consider His directions, then proceed only on the “green lights” of His perfect will for you.

* We know God didn’t mind interracial marriage, look at the examples of Moses and his wife, Ruth (a Moabitess) and Boaz, and Rehab (the former harlot of Jericho) and her Isrealite husband. All these women, though, first accepted God and forsook their idols before marrying a man of God.

________________________

©2009, 2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

 

~ by sanewriter on March 15, 2013.

4 Responses to “3/15: Warning Signs”

  1. It’s going to be finish of mine day, however before finish I am reading this impressive paragraph to increase my experience.

  2. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing blog!

  3. Warning comes before destruction.

  4. Hello I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would
    just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

Leave a Reply

 
