3/7: What to Do with Jesus

 

I talked with a woman recently who was in the midst of a serious family crisis. Since I know God cares about our struggles, I immediately wanted to pray with her and encourage her in the Lord, but I didn’t know how she would feel about that. When I broached the subject of God, she said she believed in God and was doing her best to be a good person. Her answer was really saying, “Even though I’m trying to be good, God isn’t doing anything about my problem.”

I knew exactly what to say next so I asked, “What do you think about Jesus Christ?”

The lady answered honestly and said, “Well, I don’t think much about Jesus Christ. I just try to do my best so I can be okay with God.” Tears welled in her eyes as she then continued to share the heartache with which she was dealing in her family.

For the next hour, it was my delight to share with her the reason for her disconnect. The only thing she could “do” to be okay with God involved what she would “do” with Jesus Christ. Simply stated, Jesus is the way to get to God. In John 14:6, Jesus Himself states, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” (NKJ). For the first time in her life, she connected with God because she decided to reach to Him through Jesus Christ. Now she could have some conversations with God about working on her behalf.

I think sometimes those of us who have been Christians and in church a long time forget that reaching and pleasing the Father God still requires us to go through Jesus. The same way we came to God (through Jesus) is the same way we are to live for God (through Jesus). Jesus showed us how to live. He – God the Son – was the example to us of how to pray, how to lead, how to grieve, how to express anger, how to show compassion, how to depend on God the Father, and how to respond to God the Spirit.

Sometimes we think, “Well, I can’t be like Jesus; after all, He was God and He was perfect. He really doesn’t expect me to be just like Him. I’m good if I get kinda close.” Big neon X. Wrong answer. Although Jesus was 100% God, He was also 100% man. He did not depend upon His God-ness to be a human, nor did He depend upon His humanity to be God. Jesus’ life showed us how a vital relationship with God totally affects and transforms the human, earthly life we are supposed to live.

By the end of my conversation with the lady I mentioned above, there was a visible transformation on her countenance and, I believe, in her heart, because she understood what she could do about her problem – she could let Jesus handle because she made a confession of faith for the first time that day. And there should be a continual, visible transformation in the actions and attitudes of those of us who have been Christians for awhile. It is incumbent upon us to keep getting to God by obeying the Gospel which recognizes Jesus as the way, the truth, and the life. Regularly ask yourself, “What is the ‘way’ Jesus teaches me to speak to my spouse, children, or co-workers? What is the ‘truth’ Jesus teaches me about the situation I’m facing? How is Jesus telling me to bring ‘life’ into the conversation I’m having?”

What are you doing with Jesus? Let Him be our way, your truth, and your life today.

________________________

©2009, 2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

~ by sanewriter on March 6, 2013.

One Response to “3/7: What to Do with Jesus”

  1. What a friend we have in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

 
