2/19: The Bible Tells Me So

 

 

On Valentine’s Day, the devotion I wrote simply stated the words of the beloved children’s hymn, Yes, Jesus Loves Me. As I was going back over the last few days of entries, it occurred to me to ask, “Where does it say in the Bible that ‘Jesus loves me’”? As I thought through some verses, I realized all the ones I was thinking about said that God loves us and sent Jesus. That’s not the same as saying that Jesus loves me. Well, my curiosity wouldn’t let the question go unanswered, so after a visit to BibleGateway.com and the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge, my inquisitiveness was put to rest. (I have italicized and put in bold print the words showing that Jesus loves us.)

  • John 13:1 – Now before the Feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that His hour had come that He should depart from this world to the Father, having loved His own who were in the world, He loved them to the end.
  • Romans 8:35-37 – Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? …Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.
  • Galatians 2:20 – I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.
  • Ephesians 5:2 – And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.
  • I John 4:19 – We love Him because He first loved us.
  • Revelation 1:4-5 – John, to the seven churches which are in Asia…and from Jesus Christ, the faithful witness… to Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood.

Now, if we still aren’t convinced that Jesus loves us, how about hearing it from His own mouth?

  • John 13:34 – A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another.
  • John 15:9 – As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love.
  • John 15:12-14a – This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. 13Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. 14You are My friends

So gladly, the song is accurate. “Yes, Jesus loves me, for the Bible tells me so.”

________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

~ by sanewriter on February 19, 2013.

One Response to “2/19: The Bible Tells Me So”

  1. Jesus, I love you more! Thank you, sanewriter for the continual, inspirational, heartfelt messages.

Leave a Reply

 
