1/12: Still Need Convincing

1/12: Still Need Convincing

 

One thing that really irks me is to have to repeat myself to my students. I am very careful to have my lesson plans thought out and in place ahead of time, so I know exactly how to explain what I need them to know. Still, they sometimes have the annoying habit of tuning in only after I’ve given the instructions. Then up go their hands and they ask questions about what I have just made clear.

When God has stated something very clearly to us, why does He have to say things to us more than once? What makes us have to hear Him over and over again on the same issue? When God has made unmistakable declarations, why do we still need convincing after we’ve heard Him once?

Well, there’s nothing new under the sun. Even the stalwart saints have had this same bad habit. Genesis 15:1-2 shocked me when I read a conversation between God and Abram. God told Abram, “Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your exceedingly great reward.” If God said that directly to us, hopefully we’d be jumping up and down, excited about the protection and the profit about to come to us. But Abram’s response indicated that He missed what God had just said. Verse two relates, “But Abram said, ‘Lord God, what will You give me, seeing I go childless, and the heir of my house is Eliezer of Damascus?’”

What was Abram thinking? God had answered his question before he had a chance to ask it. For Abram’s childlessness, God was giving Himself as all Abram would ever need. God told Abram, “I’m your great reward; I’m your protection; I’m all you need.” But Abram was so single-mindedly stuck on not having kids that He missed God’s amazing revelation. God then took Abram outside for an object lesson—his inability to count the stars metaphorically showed him how gigantic his family would be in the future—and convinced him he need not worry about anything but trusting Him. Finally, Abram believed God’s word.

Abram needed more convincing, even in the immediate aftermath of an amazing revelation from God. Like I mentioned above, we sometimes ask God for more convincing evidence than His first word. Let’s work on growing past the need to have God tell us things more than once. Let’s believe Him the first time He gives us a promise. Just think: if God can spend less time convincing us of His truths, He’ll have more time to spend on bringing our needs into manifestation in our lives.

________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

~ by sanewriter on January 12, 2013.

One Response to “1/12: Still Need Convincing”

  1. God will, show up and show out!

Leave a Reply

 
