1/10: Somebody Prayed for Me

 

The lyrics of an old spiritual rattled around in my head after I read my Bible this morning. The song says:

  • Somebody prayed for me, had me on their mind,
  • Took the time to pray for me.
  • I’m so glad they prayed, I’m so glad they prayed, I’m so glad they prayed for me.

The song goes on into succeeding verses replacing the word “somebody” with “my mother,” “my father,” “the preacher,” and “my Jesus.”

What passage sparked this song to flame in my spirit? Hebrews 7:25-27. It says, “Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them. For such a High Priest was fitting for us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and has become higher than the heavens; who does not need daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifices, first for His own sins and then for the people’s, for this He did once for all when He offered up Himself” (NKJ, emphasis added).

Yes, I know others here on earth are praying for me, and I’m extremely grateful. Just yesterday, my husband told me he prays for me every day; what an honor and a blessing! An elderly lady at my church – a stalwart saint for many years – touched my heart and made me laugh when she told me, “I pray for you all the time. I’m old, and I can’t do much else other than pray anymore, so that’s what I do.” The 40 women on my prayer team bump into each other at the Throne Room praying for me. My children pray for me.

But oh my goodness, how fabulous it is to know that even if all those people get busy or sick or sleepy or even get mad at me so that they stop praying for me, I always know there’s One who “always lives to make intercession” for me. His credentials make Him qualified to get God’s attention on my behalf. He’s “holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and has become higher than the heavens.” He also doesn’t need to take time offering up prayers for Himself first before He starts in on praying for me.

Just in case you’re not quite sure who this ringer of a pray-er is, go back a few verses in Hebrews chapter 7 and you’ll find His identity in verse 22: “…Jesus has become a surety of a better covenant” (NKJ).

Now you understand the source of the song in my heart. Let’s sing the last verse together:

  • My Jesus prays for me, has me on His mind,
  • Takes the time to pray for me.
  • I’m so glad He prays, I’m so glad He prays, I’m so glad He prays for me.

Rejoice! He prays for you too!

________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

~ by sanewriter on January 10, 2013.

2 Responses to “1/10: Somebody Prayed for Me”

  1. […] Recommended Article FROM https://sanewriter.wordpress.com/2013/01/10/110-somebody-prayed-for-me/ […]

  2. I am thrilled to learn that Jesus prays for me. I too know that he walks with me, he talks with me and he tells me I am his own

Leave a Reply

 
