1/9: God Can Find and Use You

 

Ezekiel was just another displaced soul who had been taken captive with others of the children of Israel. Like many people caught up in a bad situation, he had been keeping track of the years, months, days, and maybe even hours of his ordeal. Then something amazing happened. “Now it came to pass in the thirtieth year, in the fourth month, on the fifth day of the month, as I was among the captives… that the heavens were opened and I saw visions of God…the word of the LORD came expressly to Ezekiel… in the land of the Chaldeans… and the hand of the LORD was upon him there” Ezekiel 1:1-3 (NKJ).

Ezekiel was in the worst possible condition imaginable. He and his people had been taken captive by an enemy army at the permission of God. God was punishing His people for their gross disobedience, so it was disciplinary action they rightly deserved. Still, in what seemed to have been a God-forsaken place, during what seemed to have been a God-forsaken time, in what seemed to have been a God-forsaken situation, God found Ezekiel. But not only did God find him, God spoke to him, revealed Himself to him, and placed His hand on him to use him.

The Psalmist knew God could find and use him too. Psalm 139:7-17 says, “Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, Even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me. If I say, ‘Surely the darkness shall fall on me,’ even the night shall be light about me; Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You… My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth… How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them!” (NKJ)

No matter what place, time, or situation we find ourselves in today – no matter how long we’ve been there – let’s be encouraged. God can find us, God can reveal Himself to us, God can place His hand on us, and God can use us. His thoughts toward us are precious. Praise His name!

________________________

©2013 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

 

 

~ by sanewriter on January 9, 2013.

One Response to “1/9: God Can Find and Use You”

  1. We must allow God to use us. We must allow his will to be done. Please use me Father God…I know that you’re not finish with me yet.

Leave a Reply

 
