Week 40, Day 1: Contending For Our Children

          As the parent of children who are now adults, I can look back over the years and recall the hours I’ve clocked in prayer for them. Ever since I was a little girl, I always wanted children, so before I was even married, I prayed to have some. Once married, I prayed to get pregnant. Once pregnant, I prayed for a healthy baby. I prayed a prayer of joyous thanksgiving when each was born, then continued to pray for them. I prayed they’d stop crying at 3am, I prayed for the ear infection to go away, and I prayed they’d sleep through the night. I prayed they’d walk and talk on schedule, and then I prayed they’d be quiet and sit down sometimes when they did!

          As my children grew and matured, so did my prayers for them. Much of the time, my prayers were answered by God strengthening me and working through me to meet their needs. For example, if they needed money for a school event, He gave me an additional editing job so the payment would cover it. If they got sick, He directed me to the right doctors and medicines through which He would work out their healing.

         But the game has changed now that they are adults. No longer can Mommy kiss the boo-boo away and make it all better. As it should be, they are out on their own, making their own decisions, facing their own fears, and following God as He individually leads them. We have a great relationship, so they talk things over with me, but how they choose to live is up to them, so my prayers have gone through another metamorphosis. I’m leaning on God more than ever before for my children because He’s taken me out of the loop. It’s no longer my prayer for them, His enablement of me to help them, and the manifestation of the answer. Now it’s my prayer for them and that’s it; I must trust God to take it from there without me.

          Thankfully, God has not left me without the assurance that He can handle my children’s problems, worries, idiosyncrasies, and sins much better than I ever could. Scripture is replete with encouragement for parents showing us that God is taking care of our kids and their future. Psalm 112:1-2 says, “Praise the LORD! Blessed is the man who fears the LORD, who delights greatly in His commandments. His descendants will be mighty on earth; the generation of the upright will be blessed” (NKJ). And God has even got their backs as Satan tries to divert their attention from Him and destroy their lives. God says, “I will contend with him who contends with you, and I will save your children” Isaiah 49:25 (NKJ).

           With God blessing our children as a result of our commitment to Him, and with Him grappling with the adversary for their welfare, we can be assured our children will be just fine.

 Prayer of Adoration: Lord, it’s such a comfort to know You love our children even more than we ever could.

________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website, and now also available on Kindle!

~ by sanewriter on October 1, 2012.

One Response to “Week 40, Day 1: Contending For Our Children”

  1. This one so hit home for me – with Elizabeth off at College of the Redwoods, the past couple of weeks have truly been about letting go and learning to trust. It’s not like I can get in the car and be in Eureka in an hour or two as my parents could when I went to college at UCSB.

Leave a Reply

 
