God’s Heart Toward Us

           One day as I drove to work, the vicissitudes of life flooded in and got the better of me. I couldn’t stop the tears as I agonized over something that was heavy on my heart. I’m usually a pretty cool customer, so the deluge surprised me. I found myself begging God for help. I felt like Jacob, holding onto God for dear life, refusing to let go until He blessed me.

          As the wave of distress began to subside, the Holy Spirit began to do His work. This Comforter, this Counselor, was sent to us by God to remind us of everything God had said to us. (See John 14:26.) And God has said some pretty awesome things. He had said the perfect, calming things I needed for that morning. More than anything that day, I needed to remember how precious I was in God’s eyes, and that He cared about my problem more than I did. The Holy Spirit gave me a memory jogger of that truth in the words of Isaiah 43:1-13. Since God is not a respecter of persons, His words of love to Israel apply to me too. He said:

  •  Fear not, for I have redeemed you, I have called you by your name; You are mine… (you are) precious in My sight, you have been honored, and I have loved you… Everyone who is called by My name, whom I have created for my glory; I have formed him, yes, I have made him… My servant whom I have chosen… that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am He. Before Me there was no God formed, nor shall there be after Me. I, even I, am the LORD, and besides Me there is no savior… Indeed before the day was, I am He; and there is no one who can deliver out of My hand; I work, and who will reverse it?” (NKJ)

         Go back and read just the words in bold italics. Those words explain God’s heart toward us. That morning when my pain overpowered me, the Holy Spirit helped me to remember who I was—redeemed, precious, honored, loved, formed, chosen, and created for God’s glory—in God’s eyes. I needed that. Then He went on to remind me of who He was: uniquely God, the Lord beside whom is no other, and the One who can deliver me so completely that no other power can reverse what He will do.

          I gave that problem I was struggling with over to God in a new way. It has yet to turn completely around, but I think of it differently now. Remembering how much God loves me and how powerful He is gives me confidence about the outcome. There’s a strength that wells up whenever the issue comes to mind. His wisdom about it flows through my spirit and even pours out of my mouth concerning it. He is enabling me to think, feel, and speak of it only as He would.

          Someone has well said, “Stop telling God how big your problems are, and start telling your problems how big your God is.” When the storms of life overwhelm you, remember whose you are and start rejoicing.

 ________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website. Now also available on Kindle!

~ by sanewriter on September 27, 2012.

One Response to “God’s Heart Toward Us”

  1. I believe you have noted some very interesting points , regards for the post.

Leave a Reply

 
