Week 28, Day 3: Do You Need Help?

          Journal or meditate upon your heart’s response to the passages related to looking to God for help. Pray the prayers that follow each passage and/or speak your own heart’s responses.

  •  I lift up my eyes to the hills– where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip– he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israelwill neither slumber nor sleep. The LORD watches over you—the LORD is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD will keep you from all harm—he will watch over your life; the LORD will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore. Psalm 121:1-8 (NIV)  God, when I’m in the heat of my problems, help me to remember where I can turn for shade.
  •  God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1 (NKJ)   Lord, remind me that You have my back.
  •  Our help is in the name of the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. Psalm 124:8 (NIV)                     God, how grateful I am that I know Your name and that I can call it. Not every name is a name that’s worth calling; Yours is!
  •  How blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the LORD his God; Psalm 146:5 (NAS)   I’m amazed, God, that You’ve allowed me into the blessing position. I have hope for every tomorrow.
  •  Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:28-31 (NIV)    Thank you for filling me with Your renewable energy that gives me the determination to make it every day.
  •  For I, the LORD your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, “Fear not, I will help you.” Isaiah 41:13 (NKJ)            I love holding Your hand, God.
  •  But the LORD is with me like a mighty warrior; so my persecutors will stumble and not prevail. They will fail and be thoroughly disgraced; their dishonor will never be forgotten. Jeremiah 20:11(NIV)        Not only will you help me, but you’ll beat back my adversaries and make them totally powerless against me forever. Hallelujah!
  •  Let your character be free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you,” so that we confidently say, “The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid. What shall man do to me?” Hebrews 13:5-6 (NAS)        Help me to focus on Your provision for me. It’s not that I don’t have to work, but I don’t have to be anxious and jittery about provision. After all, You are Jehovah Jireh.

 Prayer of Thanksgiving: Thank you, God, for being all the help I could ever need.

________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on July 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
