Offer, Order, and Open Your Eyes

As you’ve noticed, I haven’t been as consistent with the devotions lately as I have been for the past 3 years. I set out determined to read my Bible every day and then post a thought to pass on to you that which God had said to me through His word that day. I’d done a pretty good job of that until I was hired at my new teaching position. In an effort to give the necessary hours to faithfully carry out the duties required by my wonderful employer, I’ve found that the hours of my day left to continue my other writing ventures have been severely limited. Due to the distance of the job from my home, I now have to get on the road at the time I used to spend in my early morning devotional reading and writing. Pushing my wake-up time to another hour earlier would mean I just wouldn’t make it through the rest of the day.

I have tried one adjustment, and that is to do my devotional reading and writing in the evening. Over the past few weeks, you’ve seen how well that has worked. Not so much! So now it’s time for my next adjustment. I’m going to still find time to read and pray daily, but I will write more than one devotion several days a week and post them on succeeding days. Now that we’ve begun the year with our weekly themes, I really want to get back on track and get us caught up. Be pulling and praying for me. Right now, we should be at the beginning of week 18, and week 16 is not completed yet.

Has this ever happened to you? You make plans — even really good, Godly plans — and then, for some reason, they fall apart? What do you do when that happens? Some people feel so guilty that they end up falling farther and farther behind because they’re so ashamed to have to pick themselves up, acknowledge their failure, and do the steps to get back into the race. Some of us try to act as if nothing ever happened, but by doing so, we short-circuit our opportunity to learn and grow from our mistake. Others of us just give up.

Well, none of those reactions will do us any good when we fall off of whatever wagon we are supposed to be on. Doing whatever God purposed for us to do is still a good idea; in fact, it’s the best idea. God is not surprised by the fact that life continues to happen. He knew it would when He gave us our assignments. It’s our job to just redirect our thinking, reevaluate the necessities, and restructure our time to get everything done God has assigned. If God’s assigned it to be done, He’ll provide for it to be done.

Psalm 50:23 says, “Whoever offers praise glorifies Me; and to him who orders his conduct aright I will show the salvation of God” (NKJ). I’m praising God today, giving Him glory for the full life He’s provided. I’m ordering my conduct to do what’s right: meet in private with Him daily; be an honorable, faithful employee on my job; and carry out the speaking, writing, and editing ministry He’s placed on my heart. I fully expect that by offering my praise and ordering my conduct, I will clearly see the salvation of God worked out in my life.

So, as you are having your really busy days, put things in perspective. Offer God praise, order your conduct, and open your eyes. You’ll see the salvation of God!

_________________________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com.

~ by sanewriter on May 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
