Week 13, Day 3: My Spiritual and Physical Health

Write and/or reflect upon your heart’s response to the passages upon which you meditated yesterday.

Proverbs 3:7-8 – Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones. (NIV)

  • Lord, thank You for providing me a way to access Your wisdom through Your word. I fear You, God, and I want to turn from evil. Thank You for connecting the desire to turn from evil with the wisdom to identify it. I also thank you that obedience in this area means physical health for me.

Proverbs 4:20-23 – My child, pay attention to what I say. Listen carefully to my words. Don’t lose sight of them. Let them penetrate deep into your heart, for they bring life to those who find them, and healing to their whole body. Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life. (NLT)

  • Thank You for showing me that heart health connects with physical health.

Proverbs 15:30 – Light in a messenger’s eyes brings joy to the heart, and good news gives health to the bones. (NIV)

  • Thank You for connecting joy with health.

3 John 1:2 – Beloved, I pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers. (NKJ)

  • Thank You for this prayer that connects my physical prosperity with my spiritual prosperity.

1 Corinthians 6:18-20 – Flee sexual immorality. Every sin that a man does is outside the body, but he who commits sexual immorality sins against his own body. Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s. (NKJ)

  • Thank You for precise directions so that I don’t have to guess about how to please You. I also need not be surprised if I sin against my body and I start having problems.

1 Corinthians 9:26-27 – So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified. (NLT)

  • Thank You for telling me about the necessity for discipline when it comes to my physical body and health.

Prayer of Thanksgiving: Thank You, God, for the body You have given me.

________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on March 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
