Week 11, Day 5 – Seeing as Jesus Sees

Spiritual Discipline to Practice: Prayer

Most of us know that prayer is communicating with God. Seeing it that way, we realize that praying is important. First Thessalonians 5:17 even encourages us to “pray without ceasing.” So sure, we see prayer as valuable and even vital, but how often do we actually approach it as a discipline?

Come on, be honest. How many times have you ventured into your prayer times and found your mind wandering after the first “Dear Lord, thank you for this day”? Many times, as I am praying, I catch myself having to jolt my mind back to a focus on what I’m supposed to be doing. My mind flits to the duties of the morning, concerns about the kids, stuff I wish I could say to my husband, problems friends are having, upcoming events, things I forgot to do, and on and on and on. Although all these things are matters I could be praying about, that’s not how they fly into my mind. They come in as thoughts that I start to strategize about, not as thoughts I’m taking to lay at my Savior’s feet.

That’s why I started using my prayer cards. By taking those thoughts and writing them down, I translate them into conversation pieces to talk over with God. My prayer time then becomes an actual discussion with Him, not a mental exercise with myself. I’ve found that there’s so much to talk with God about, that I’ve divided the issues into categories and I pray for certain categories on certain days. On my cards, I also leave room to record God’s answers. By using this organized system, my prayer life has become more consistent, and yes, more disciplined. One major fabulous result is I have begun to see the events and issues of my life as Jesus sees them, and He can then order my steps accordingly.

This weekend, with a view toward seeing things in your life as Jesus sees them, start the practice of prayer as a discipline. If you are interested in exactly how I work my prayer card system, shoot me an email at LifeThatMatters@yahoo.com and I’ll send it to you free of charge. In the subject line write: Prayer Card System.

Have an incredible weekend.

_________________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on March 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
