Week 11, Day 3: See as Jesus Sees

Write your heart’s response to the passages upon which you meditated yesterday.

  •  1 John 3:18-24 (NKJ) – My little children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth. And by this we know that we are of the truth, and shall assure our hearts before Him. For if our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and knows all things. Beloved, if our heart does not condemn us, we have confidence toward God. And whatever we ask we receive from Him, because we keep His commandments and do those things that are pleasing in His sight. And this is His commandment: that we should believe on the name of His Son Jesus Christ and love one another, as He gave us commandment. Now he who keeps His commandments abides in Him, and He in him. And by this we know that He abides in us, by the Spirit whom He has given us.
  1. When I read that You are greater than my heart and You know all things, my response is:
  2. I see that believing in You is directly connected with loving others. If I were to evaluate how my love for others demonstrates my belief in You, my evaluation of myself would be:________________ because _________________.
  •  Luke 16:15 (NLT) – Then he said to them, “You like to appear righteous in public, but God knows your hearts. What this world honors is detestable in the sight of God. Now the apostles and elders came together to consider this matter. And when there had been much dispute, Peter rose up and said to them: “Men and brethren, you know that a good while ago God chose among us, that by my mouth the Gentiles should hear the word of the gospel and believe. So God, who knows the heart, acknowledged them by giving them the Holy Spirit, just as He did to us, and made no distinction between us and them, purifying their hearts by faith.
  1. If I were someone else looking at myself, would I appear to be a child of God? Why or why not?
  2. Realizing that I am a work in progress, what does God see in me that is becoming more like Him?
  3. What, if anything, am I honoring that is detestable to God?
  • Acts 15:6 (NKJ) – Now the apostles and elders came together to consider this matter. And when there had been much dispute, Peter rose up and said to them: “Men and brethren, you know that a good while ago God chose among us, that by my mouth the Gentiles should hear the word of the gospel and believe. So God, who knows the heart, acknowledged them by giving them the Holy Spirit, just as He did to us, and made no distinction between us and them, purifying their hearts by faith.
  1. What attitudes do I hold against those of other Christian denominations?

Prayer of Thanksgiving: God, thank You for others – both in and out of Your family – with whom I can share Your love. Thank You for knowing my heart and for Your correction when my attitudes are wrong. Thank You for loving me enough to transform me daily into the image of Your Son.

_________________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on March 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
