Week 8, Day 2: Following Who God Has Chosen

Read and meditate upon how these verses relate to following who God has chosen.

  • 1 Peter 1:15-16 – But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.” (NIV)
  • I John 4:10-11 – This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. (NIV)
  • Ephesians 5:1-2 – Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. (NIV)
  • Philippians 3:17 – Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you. (NIV)

Prayer of Confession: Dear God, these verses show me how I have fallen short of Your will for me to obediently follow You, Your Son Jesus, and/or those you have placed in spiritual leadership positions in my life. I confess my lack of obedience in following You in the specific areas below:

  • I need to strive for holiness in the area of…
  • I need to show love to…
  • I need to express love by…
  • I need to take note of the example I see in the life of _______________ and imitate his/her action of …
  • OR imitate his/her quality of…

________________________

©2012 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on February 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
