Feel Him Move

         Most women who have birthed a baby have had the same experience, excitement upon first feeling the baby move. I remember exactly where I was when I first felt my first baby move. I was working a temp job at a camera company inHollywood, CA. While sitting at that receptionist’s desk, I felt a little flutter ripple across my growing tummy. From that time forward, Matthew’s movements became more and more distinct. The larger he grew and the closer I got to my delivery date, the more I felt him. He finally became so big that I could no longer carry him inside of me. Because of his movements, I knew without a shadow of a doubt when the time came for him to be born, and everything within me participated in making that happen.

          I’m sure it was no different for Mary, the mother of Jesus. I had a much smoother ride during labor to the hospital than she had riding a donkey to the place where she would deliver her child; however, her physical discomfort was the same. Her birthing story happened when “Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world” Luke 2:1 (NIV). Probably to her chagrin, she learned that at nine months pregnant, she and Joseph would have to travel all the way from Nazareth in Galilee to Bethlehem in Judea and “while they were there, the time came for the baby to be born” Luke 2:6 (NIV).

          Yes, because of He was big enough within her, and because of His movements, Mary knew without a shadow of a doubt that the time had come for Jesus to be born. No matter where she was, His movements within her moved her to let Him out.

         How big is Jesus in you? Is His presence in your life growing so much that you can feel Him move? The larger He grows in you, the more you will feel Him move. The mystery of this birthing analogy is that He will never leave us, He’ll continue to grow within us, but we’re also obliged to let Him out so others can see Him.   

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on December 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
