He Knows Me

         Sometimes we feel like no one really knows us. We can be misunderstood on the job, misrepresented in a social setting, mistreated by acquaintances, and mishandled by family members. We can have our best intentions insulted and our bodies injured. We want to shout, “What is this, Disrespect Me Day? Doesn’t anybody really know and understand me?”

          Especially on days like that, turn to Psalm 139 and read verses 1 – 6:

  • O LORD, You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; you understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, but behold, O LORD, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain it. (NKJ)

          Some people may see these verses as ominous. Oh no, God is hanging over my shoulder just waiting for a chance to club me when I slip up. However, the tone of this Psalm is one of trust in an approachable God, a God who knows absolutely everything about us and loves us anyway. These opening verses of this 24 verse piece ends with the Psalmist exclaiming that the very idea of such a wonderful, unconditional love sets his mind on tilt.

         What a wonderful revelation it is to know that even though God knows everything about us, He loves us, and there’s absolutely nothing we can do to make Him stop.

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on December 16, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
