On Holding Hands

              I love holding hands. There’s something special about the touch of someone you love. I can recall reaching for my children’s hands as we crossed a street or walked through a crowded store. It’s also a fond memory for me to think about them reaching for my hand when they wanted comfort or they just wanted to be sure I was close enough to reach.

             Nowadays, those children are out of the house, living on their own, and I rarely see them in person, much less get the opportunity to hold their hands. The most special hand-holding I get to do now is with my husband. I love to hold his hand. He reaches for my hand in church when we pray. My husband’s hands are strong. He used them to work to provide a wonderful, comfortable home for us; He used them to fix things and discipline the children; and he uses them both to love and protect me. Whenever he holds my hand as we pray, I also realize how his hands symbolize his leadership and guidance to follow God.

          All these hand-holding thoughts flood my mind and heart as I read, “I, the Lord, have called You in righteousness, and will hold Your hand,” Isaiah 42:6a (NKJ). At first, I took this personally, as if God were talking to me. Then I realized that the pronoun “you” in the passage is capitalized. God is speaking here to Jesus. He goes on to tell Jesus, “…I will keep You and give You as a covenant to the people, as a light to the Gentiles, to open blind eyes, to bring out prisoners from the prison, those who sit in darkness from the prison house” Isaiah 42:6b-7 (NKJ).

           After reading the context, I thought, Shucks, this verse isn’t about God holding my hand. This verse is about the oneness of the Godhead—about how God the Father connects with God the Son. That’s all well and good, but what about holding my hand. Then I remembered I had 65 other books in the Bible, filled with verses about God. Surely there must be something that talked about God holding my hand. Check out these verses:

  • Psalm 73:23  “Nevertheless I am continually with Thee; Thou hast taken hold of my right hand.” (NAS)
  • Psalm 37:23-24 “If the LORD delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand” (NIV).
  • Psalm 63:8 “My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me” (NIV).
  • Isaiah 41:10 “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” (NIV).
  • Isaiah 41:13 “For I, the LORD your God, will hold your right hand, saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you” (NKJ).

           As wonderful as it is for me to hold my husband’s and children’s hands, it’s even more wonderful to know that God holds my hand. God’s hand assures us of His presence, His guidance, His protection, and his provision. We’re secure, stable, strengthened, and sure because God holds our hand and holds us in His. We’re in good hands when we’re in God’s hands.

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

 

~ by sanewriter on October 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
