The Great Exchange

            Lots of us give to charities. Besides giving my tithes and offerings to my church, I give money to such organizations as the Alzheimer’s Association to fund research to find a cure, The Right to Life League to spread accurate information about the atrocity of abortion, andBiolaUniversityto continue the ministry of Christian higher education. But no matter how much I give to causes in which I believe, I have never been moved to give away all the money I earn to charities. I keep enough to live on, to maintain a savings, and to do things for personal enjoyment and entertainment. In fact, besides my tithes which I set aside first, I pay myself and my bills before I give to non-profits or others who are looking for financial assistance from me.

         By contrast to my self-sustaining giving habits (and I dare say, yours as well), Jesus gave absolutely everything He had—down to His very life—for us charity cases. He didn’t pay Himself first, put some of Himself aside for a rainy day, nor hang on to just enough of Himself so as not to lose Himself in His sacrifice. He gave it all. Second Corinthians 8:9 gives us this wonderful news. “For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though He was rich, yet for your sakes He became poor, that you through His poverty might become rich” (NKJ).

           His life for ours. His riches to replace our poverty. Christ’s riches enrich us. He emptied Himself to fill us. That marvelous exchange empowers and enables us to live for Him. Hallelujah, what a Savior!

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

 

 

~ by sanewriter on October 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
