Getting Us Ready

         As a high school teacher, I am well aware that I am helping to prepare most of my students for careers away from school because very few kids want to become teachers. So every day, I am moving them closer and closer to leaving me to move on to the next level of life. We discuss how what they are learning from me is preparing them for “the real world.” As a mom, I saw myself in that very same role with my children. Every day that I raised them and taught them, I was preparing them for life outside of my house—for life in “the real world.” And with both my students and my children, school life or home life was much more pleasant when they followed my directions and pleased me in their assignments, chores, and attitudes.

         God is basically doing the same thing with us. Life on this earth and in these bodies is just preparation, just practice, for the actual real world—our heavenly home where we’ll live for eternity. Second Corinthians 5:5-9 makes this clear:

  •  Now He who has prepared us for this very thing is God, who also has given us the Spirit as a guarantee. So we are always confident, knowing that while we are at home in the body we are absent from the Lord. For we walk by faith, not by sight. We are confident, yes, well pleased rather to be absent from the body and to be present with the Lord. Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him. (NKJ)

           So as we live, let’s keep in mind that this life, with its ups and downs, joys and sorrows, is but for a little while. We may as well get good at pleasing God here, because in that “real world” to come, at least one of our continual, delightful tasks will be to glorify and please God in person.

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on September 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
