God Takes Note

My parents showed up at every important event in which I participated. If I was playing in a piano recital, singing in a choir concert, or directing a play, I could look out into the audience and see my mom and dad, sitting side-by-side, rooting me on. One of my favorite pictures of them was taken at my college graduation. There they were again, side-by-side in the bleachers of the Biola gymnasium, ready to take note with pride and cheer me on in the culmination of my accomplishment.

God takes note with pride of our accomplishments in spiritual pursuits. Listen to how He brags about Job. “8Then the Lord said to Satan, ‘Have you considered My servant Job, that there is none like him on the earth, a blameless and upright man, one who fears God and shuns evil?’” Job 1:8 (NKJ) After Satan destroyed Job’s possessions and killed his children, Job still remained upright, so Satan went back to God. This time, God reiterated His previous remark with an added comment. Then the Lord said to Satan, ‘Have you considered My servant Job, that there is none like him on the earth, a blameless and upright man, one who fears God and shuns evil? And still he holds fast to his integrity, although you incited Me against him, to destroy him without cause’” Job 2:3 (NKJ).

Sometimes we may feel as though we are doing all we should, we’re taking all kinds of flack in the name of our faith, and there are no kudos coming. It seems like the more we do right, the more hassle we invite. Has God turned His back to look elsewhere for a while? Does it even concern Him that we’re suffering?

Rest assured: God has a prime seat “in the bleachers,” watching with pride and cheering us on in our spiritual accomplishments. He is actually 100% in control of every single thing that comes our way. He may never explain to us why He has allowed us to face whatever we’re going through. Our correct response is just to hold on to what we know of our loving Heavenly Father. Nothing gets past Him. He’s at every event—taking note.

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com.

REMINDER: Remember to study your Bible regularly. At any time of the day or night, log on to www.LifeThatMatters.net and click the podcast. Increase your knowledge of the Word as you study the Bible with Sharon’s weekly A Heart for the Word devotion and daily study guide.

 

 

~ by sanewriter on August 12, 2011.

One Response to “God Takes Note”

  1. I love this because it is true but also because we really need to hold on to the reminder. I remember going through a time that really tested my faithfulness and my loyalty. My integrity was being measured and not a single person supported me other than God and my own mother. Everyone else marked me as a mess up. It was very hard and that moment is still marked that way. It is not like God later went and changed everyoneelse’s thinking so that they too knew it was a God moment in my life, and He didn’t need to do that. Although I think that is what most of us would want – that credit here in earthly form.

    Instead I have to remember what God was doing there and trust just like you stated here in this passage that God was there to watch and He took note and that is all that matters. Thank you for sharing this! I love reading your posts.

    Laura ~

Leave a Reply

 
