God’s Hearing is Listening

         There’s a difference between the questions, “Did you hear me?” and “Are you listening to me?” We can hear something yet not really be listening to it. Most of us have learned to tune out many of the sounds that bombard our ears daily so that we can concentrate on that which is most important. As I work at my desk at home, planes and helicopters occasionally fly overhead, birds chirp outside, the computer gives off a low hum, and the wind gently blows through my lemon tree. Although my ears hear those sounds, I don’t react to them because I’m not listening to them. However, when I’m listening, I may react with annoyance because of the planes, helicopters, and hum of the computer; but may be moved to relaxation by the birds’ songs and the calming sound of the breeze.

          God’s hearing is always the listening kind that produces action on His part. Psalm 34:4 and 6 say, “I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears… This poor man cried out, and the LORD heard him, and saved him out of all his troubles (NKJ). When God heard the Psalmist, he was delivered from his fears and saved out of all his troubles.

          God is not simply a hearer, but a listener. When we seek and cry out to Him, we have His undivided attention, and He’s ready to move on our behalf. This fact is not, however, a blank check we can cash in heaven’s bank to get everything for which we ask. God listens not only to our words, but also to our intentions. God does not supply our greed, our lust, or our misguided purposes. Consider these verses:

  • I, the LORD, search the heart, I test the mind, even to give every man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his doings. Jeremiah17:10(NKJ)
  • You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. Psalm 139:2 (NIV)
  • For the word of God is living and active… and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. Hebrews4:12(NAS)

          God is listening and He acts in our best interest every time we speak to Him.

________________________

©2011 Sharon Norris Elliott. Feel free to forward this devotion in its entirety, including this copyright line. Leave comments, ask questions, read past devotions, or subscribe to receive these devotions daily in your e-mail at www.sanewriter.wordpress.com. Also, periodically check in at www.LifeThatMatters.net to see what’s going on in the ministry.

 And pick up a copy of Sharon’s new book, Power Suit: The Armor of God Fit for the Feminine Frame, available at Christian bookstores, online, from New Hope Publishers, and from the Life That Matters Ministries’ website.

~ by sanewriter on August 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
